The Encore Network is succeeding because of our powerful mission and highly engaged members. To make the most of our new role leading the encore movement, we need a committed leadership team and active committees, working with our part-time executive director.

This month, in an important next step, the current leadership team appointed a formal Leadership Council and officers. Council members run significant encore programs, some national, some local. Janine Vanderburg, who leads Changing the Narrative Colorado, will chair the Council, contributing her passion, energy and advocacy skills. Noreen Willhelm, senior fellow at the Dayton Foundation, is our secretary/treasurer, bringing decades of nonprofit experience to that role.

“The Encore Network has so much potential to change how the world views older adults, and to support members’ programs,” Janine said. “My favorite saying is, ‘we are the leaders we’ve been waiting for,’ so I’m thrilled to be working with this committed, experienced team. Members, we’ll have lots of ways for you to participate, and bring your ideas to life.”

  • Council members and committees:
    Communications: Lenora Inez Brown (Leadership Cleveland, Legacy Leaders and Advanced Leadership Institute, inspired by Carl and Louis Stokes), Susan Collins (The Transition Network)
    Fundraising: Dave Garvey (Encore!Connecticut), Paul Weiss (Oasis), Craig Young (Inspiring Service)
    Nominating: Doug Dickson (Encore Boston Network), Dave Garvey, Bevan Gray Rogel (Encore Tampa Bay), Noreen Willhelm
    Membership: Bevan Gray Rogel, Kate Schaefers (University of Minnesota Advanced Careers program)
    Program: Doug Dickson, Kathy Hallissey (Cleveland Foundation), Rimas Jasin (PSS)

Read their bios on the Encore Network/About page.

What’s next? YOU! Our committees need your skills and ideas, and the Network needs to build a leadership pipeline. If you’re inspired to raise your hand, send a note to [email protected], and tell us what interests you. We’ll be in touch with more details in August.

We thank longstanding leaders who are stepping off the leadership team to focus on their encore programs: Helen Dennis (Renewment and Successful Aging column), Therese Ellery (Rose Community Foundation), Ward Greene (SAGE) and Emily Merritt (Alliance for Strong Families and Communities). We know they’ll continue to contribute to the encore movement in many ways.